Conference venue

Greifswald is surrounded by reeds. Along the Baltic coast, the inland lake shores and the streams in ice marginal valleys, thick peat deposits illustrate the lasting relation of reeds with the land of Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Therefore, also peatland studies have a history of 200 years in Greifswald. Over the last 20 years research focussed i.a. on peatland restoration and sustainable peatland utilisation.

The Hanseatic city of Greifswald

The city of Greifswald, situated in northeastern Germany at the Baltic Sea coast, is a founding member of the Hanseatic League of Towns. It is situated amidst extensive forests, peatlands, and lakes, including seven national parks and biosphere reserves and many large restoration projects. The market square with its medieval churches offers the visitor one of the most beautiful Northern German market place ensembles. www.greifswald.de

Host institution

The Greifswald Mire Centre is the interface between science, policy and practice in all peatland related questions – locally and globally. It unites some 50 peatland experts in one place. Partners in the Greifswald Mire Centre are the University of Greifwald, the Michael Succow Foundation and DUENE e.V. The Greifswald Mire Centre offers science-based solutions for social challenges related to peatlands such as climate protection, biodiversity conservation and sustainable use. www.greifswaldmoor.de

General information

Universität Greifswald
Website of the University of Greifswald

Universitäts- und Hansestadt Greifswald
Website of the Hanseatic city of Greifswald

Touristeninformation Greifswald
Website of the tourist information of Greifswald

Tourismusverband Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Website of the tourism association Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Arrival

We suggest to arrive to Greifswald by train. The fastest possiblities are ICE trains. Please avoid unnecessary flights.

By train ~ 2.5 h from Berlin or 3.25 h from Hamburg. www.bahn.de

By bus there are long-distance bus lines from Berlin and Hamburg to Greifswald. Please search for Fernbus Greifswald.

By car ~250 km via A10/A20 from Berlin or Hamburg. www.google.de/maps

By airplane via Berlin or Hamburg.

Hotels and Apartments

The availability of accommodation during the conference week in Greifswald is getting limited. Please book your accommodation as soon as possible. You can use the attached form and contact Greifswald Information (stadtinformation@greifswald-marketing.de) for your reservations. Form.

You may also use your favourite booking service, e.g. www.booking.com.

Tagungsort

Greifswald ist von Schilf umgeben. Entlang der Ostseeküste, den Seenplatten und den Flüssen in Urstromtälern dokumentieren dicke Torfschichten die lange Existenz von Schilf in der Region des heutigen Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Die Moorkunde in Greifswald hat eine 200-jährige Geschichte. In den vergangenen 20 Jahren fokussierte sich die Forschung auf Moorrestauration und die nachhaltige Nutzung von Mooren.

Universitäts- und Hansestadt Greifswald

Greifswald, gelegen an der Ostseeküste im Nordosten Deutschlands, ist ein Gründungsmitglied der Hanse. Der Greifswalder Marktplatz umgeben von mehreren mittelalterlichen Kirchen ist einer der schönsten Norddeutschlands. Die Stadt liegt inmitten von Wäldern, Mooren und Seen. Die umliegende Region bietet sieben Nationalparke und Biosphärenreservate sowie zahlreiche große Restaurationsprojekte. Mehr Information: www.greifswald.de. www.greifswald.de

Gastgeber

Das Greifswald Moor Centrum ist die Schnittstelle zwischen Wissenschaft und Politik in allen Moorfragen – lokal und weltweit. Es verbindet die Expertise von 50 Moorkundlern aller Art an einem Standort. Auf wissenschaftlicher Grundlage bieten das Greifswald Moor Centrum zielgerichtete Lösungsansätze für gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen wie Klimawandel, Schutz der Biodiversität und nachhaltiges Wirtschaften. Partner im Greifswald Moor Centrum sind die Universität Greifswald, die Michael Succow Stiftung, und DUENE e.V.. Mehr Information: www.greifswaldmoor.de

Allgemeine Informationen

Universität Greifswald
Webseite der Universität Greifswald

Universitäts- und Hansestadt Greifswald
Webseite der Stadt Greifswald

Touristeninformation Greifswald
Webseite der Touristeninformation

Tourismusverband Mecklenburg-Vorpommern
Webseite des Tourismusverband Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Anreise

Wir empfehlen ihnen per Zu nach Greifswald zu reisen. Die schnellsten Verbindungen sind mit dem ICE. Bitte vermeiden sie unnötige Flüge.

Mit dem Zug ~ 2.5 h von Berlin oder 3.25 h von Hamburg. www.bahn.de

Mit dem Bus es gibt Fernbusverbindungen von/über Berlin und Hamburg nach Greifswald. Bitte suchen sie nach Fernbus Greifswald.

Mit dem Auto ~250 km via A10/A20 von Berlin oder Hamburg. www.google.de/maps

Mit dem Flugzeug via Berlin or Hamburg.

Hotels and Apartments

Bitte nutzen sie ihren bevorzugten Búchungsdienst oder wenden sich an die Touristeninformation, e.g. www.booking.com.