RRR2017 - Excursions

For all participants different guided field trips will be organized on Tuesday September 26th 2017. Destinations will include rewetted peatland sites and examples for biomass processing in northern Germany. The excursion will be offered in English and German language.

Day trips

All day trips are available in both English and German language.

Vegetation, greenhouse gas balance and biomass use on rewetted peatlands near Malchin (1)

Guides: Dr. Wendelin Wichtmann & Christian Schröder (+ local guides/farmers)

Highlights: Vegetation types and the greenhouse gas emission site type (GEST) approach in polder Randow-Rustow, boat trip on Peene river, mown rewetted peatland sites near lake Kummerower See, rare wetland plants favoured by mowing, the pioneering paludi-biomass heating plant in Malchin.

Registration fee: 75 €

Land use history, mowing machinery and biomass use for building material at Peene river mouth (2)

Guides: Dr. Franziska Tanneberger & Tobias Dahms (+ local guides/farmers)

Highlights: Harvesting machinery for reed cutting (tracked vehicles, vehicles with balloon tyres), harvesting sites for thatch, drained peatland used as grassland, large formerly drained peatland flooded and abandoned after dike break, cormorant colony and white-tailed sea eagles, tourist house insulated with cattail and thatched with reed, boat trip, light tractors for mowing wet peatlands, weaving loom for the production of mats from reed.

Registration fee: 75 €

Peatland rewetting, land use and birds in Lower Peene river valley (3)

Guides: Dr. Nina Seifert & Dr. Cosima Tegetmeyer (+ local guides/farmers)

Highlights: Natur park visitor centre in Stolpe, land use history, implementation of a large-scale peatland restoration project and designation of new nature reserves in 20,000 ha, breeding and migrating birds on flooded former polders near Anklam, organic farming and local marketing along the river valley, large-scale compensation project on peatland restoration and low-intensity grazing with horses and cattle, motor mower with ultra-wide cutter bars used for conservation management.

Registration fee: 50 €

Peatland research on mown and grazed rewetted peatland in Recknitz and Trebel river valleys and on Darss peninsula (4)

Guides: Anke Nordt & Andreas Haberl (+ local guides/farmers)

Highlights: Study sites of the major research project on matter dynamics in rewetted peatlands of Greifswald and Rostock universities (funded under the regional excellence initiative), sites rewetted c. 15 years ago in a LIFE project, sites managed and monitored for biodiversity conservation, site-adapted mowing equipment, grazing sites with water buffalos on Darss peninsula, large flocks of migrating cranes.

Registration fee: 50 €

Paludiculture on rewetted bogs near Oldenburg (5)

Guides: Matthias Krebs (+ local guides/farmers)

Highlights: Sphagnum farming site, sundew cultivation and use opportunities for medicine or food, land use opportunities on bog grassland, peat extraction site, horticultural trials.

Registration fee: 100 €

Half Day Trip (English language)

Paludiculture plants and salt meadows near Greifswald (6)

Guides: Susanne Abel, Claudia Oehmke and John Couwenberg

Highlights: Paludiculture plants in the Botanical garden of Greifswald University; excursion to salt meadows “Karrendorfer Wiesen”, study site of the large research project on matter dynamics in rewetted peatlands of Greifswald and Rostock universities, rewetted coastal flood peatland.

Registration fee: 25 €

Map

RRR2017 - Exkursionen

Am Dienstag den 26. September werden für die Teilnehmer der nationalen und internationalen Tagung verschiedene Exkursionen organisiert. Es werden Praxis-Beispiele zur Umsetzung von Moorwiedervernässung in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern und Paludikultur vorgestellt.

Ganztages-Exkursionen

Die Exkursionen werden in deutscher und englischer Sprache angeboten.

Vegetation, Treibhausgasemissionen und Biomasse-Verwertung von wiedervernässten Mooren nahe Malchin (1)

Leitung: Dr. Wendelin Wichtmann & Christian Schröder (+ regionale Führung/Landwirt)

Highlights: Vegetationstypen und Treibhausgas-Emissions-Standorttypen (GEST) Konzept, Polder Randow-Rustow, Bootsfahrt auf der Peene, bewirtschaftete wiedervernässte Moore am Kummerower See, seltene Feuchtgebietspflanzen im Mahdregime, das erste Paludi-Biomasse-Heizwerk in Malchin.

Kosten: 75 €

Landnutzungsgeschichte, Erntemaschinen und Biomasse-Verwertung als Baustoffe an der Peene-Mündung (2)

Leitung: Dr. Franziska Tanneberger & Tobias Dahms (+ regionale Führung/Landwirt)

Highlights: Erntetechnik für die Rohrwerbung (Kettenfahrzeuge, Fahrzeuge mit Ballonreifen), Ernteflächen für Schilfrohr, als Grünland genutzte entwässerte Moore, großflächige Wiedervernässung von gepolderten Grünlandflächen deren Bewirtschaftung nach Deichbruch aufgegeben wurde, Kormoran Kolonie und Seeadler, Gästehaus, das mit Rohrkolbeneinblasdämmung isoliert und mit Rohr gedeckt ist, Bootstour, leichte Traktoren für die Mahd nasser Moore, Webstuhl zur Mattenherstellung aus Schilfrohr.

Kosten: 75 €

Wiedervernässung von Mooren, Landnutzung und Vogelbeobachtung im Unteren Peene-Tal (3)

Leitung: Dr. Nina Seifert & Dr. Cosima Tegetmeyer (+ regionale Führung/Landwirt)

Highlights: Naturpark Besucherzentrum in Stolpe, Landnutzungsgeschichte, Großflächige Moor-Wiedervernässungsprojekte und Ausweisung neuer Schutzgebiete auf 20.000 ha, Brut- und Zugvögel auf überstauten früheren Poldern bei Anklam, Bio-Landbau und Vermarktung im Bereich des Peene-Tals, großflächige Kompensation (Eingriffs-/Ausgleichsregelung) für die Restauration von Mooren und extensiver Beweidung mit Rindern und Pferden, Motor-Mähgerät mit überbreitem Mähwerk für die Pflegemahd.

Kosten: 50 €

Moorforschung auf gemähten und beweideten wiedervernässten Mooren im Recknitz- und Trebel-Tal und auf dem Darß (4)

Leitung: Anke Nordt & Andreas Haberl (+ regionale Führung/Landwirt)

Highlights: Haupt-Untersuchungsflächen des Forschungsprojekts zur Stoffdynamik wiedervernässter Moore der Universitäten Greifswald und Rostock (gefördert durch die regionale Exzellenzinitiative); vor ca. 15 Jahren im Rahmen eines EU-Life Projektes wiedervernässte Moorstandorte; nasse Moorstandorte, die vom `Naturschutz` gepflegt und bewirtschaftet werden; standortangepasste Mäh-Technik; Weideflächen von Wasserbüffeln auf dem Darß; Kraniche auf dem Zug.

Kosten: 50 €

Paludikultur auf wiedervernässten Hochmoorstandorten bei Oldenburg (5)

Leitung: Matthias Krebs (+ regionale Führung/Landwirt)

Highlights: Versuchsfläche Torfmooskultivierung, Sonnentau-Anbau und Alternativen für die Produktion von Rohstoffen für Medizinalprodukte oder Lebensmittel, Alternativen zur Bewirtschaftung von Hochmoorgrünland, Torfabbau, gartenbauliche Versuche.

Kosten: 100 €

Halbtages-Exkursion

Die Halbtages-Exkursion wird in englischer Sprache angeboten.

Paludikultur-Pflanzen und Salzgrasland in der Nähe von Greifswald (6)

Leitung: Susanne Abel, Claudia Oehmke and John Couwenberg

Highlights: Paludikultur-Pflanzen im Botanischen Garten der Universität Greifswald; Exkursion in die “Karrendorfer Wiesen” (restauriertes Salzgrasland), Untersuchungsflächen des Forschungsprojekts `Wetscapes` zur Stoffdynamik wiedervernässter Moore der Universitäten Greifswald und Rostock, wiedervernässtes Küstenüberflutungsmoor.

Kosten: 25 €

Karte